MIPS, Meaningful Use and Regulatory Requirements

MACRA/Meaningful Use Interfaces

Our interface technologies ensure your healthcare delivery organization meet MACRA/Meaningful Use criteria. eMedApps has the technology and experience to help your organization attain Meaningful Use/MACRA program requirements.

Our team of regulatory experts can also assist with:

  • Meaningful Use/MACRA reporting needs
  • EHR optimization for Quality Measure data capture
  • Meaningful Use/MACRA security audits
  • Meaningful Use/MACRA consulting and gap analysis services


The Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA) is legislation signed into law in 2015.

MACRA created the Quality Payment Program https://qpp.cms.gov/ which:

  • Repeals the Sustainable Growth Rate formula
  • Changes the way that Medicare rewards clinicians for value over volume
  • Streamlines multiple quality programs under the new Merit Based Incentive Payments System (MIPS)
  • Gives bonus payments for participation in eligible alternative payment models (APMs)
  • MACRA also required us to remove Social Security Numbers (SSNs) from all Medicare cards


The Merit Based Incentive Program requires eligible Providers to improve patient care and outcomes while managing the costs of services patients receive using certified technology.  Providers providing high value/high quality patient care are rewarded through Medicare payment increases.

Meaningful Use

In 2011, CMS established the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs (now known as the Promoting Interoperability Programs) to encourage eligible professionals (EPs), eligible hospitals, and CAHs to adopt, implement, upgrade (AIU), and demonstrate meaningful use of certified electronic health record technology (CEHRT).

In October 2015, CMS released a final rule that established Stage 3 requirements beginning in 2017 and beyond.  These requirements focus on using CEHRT to improve health outcomes. All participants in the Medicaid Promoting Interoperability program are required to use 2015 Edition CEHRT.

eMedApps provides tailored support to assist you with both MIPS and Meaningful Use programs including:

  • Promoting Interoperability, Quality and Improvement Activity Measure review, selection and guidance
  • Promoting Interoperability Hardship Exception guidance
  • Workflow creation and guidance based on measure selections
  • End user training on measures and workflow
  • EHR optimization for data capture
  • Audit Binder Assistance
  • Recommended Policy and Procedure Guidance based on measure selections on ONC required statements
  • Reporting needs
  • Ongoing support including a dedicated resource providing reports, summaries and connections throughout the year
  • Attestation Assistance
  • Security Risk Assessment Assistance
  • Assistance with Extreme and Uncontrollable Circumstance Exception Application

eMedApps Custom Solutions and Services can assist your organization with meeting many program requirements and internal project objectives

Patient Centered Medical Home (PCMH) & Patient Centered Specialty Practice (PCSP)

PCMH designation means that a practice has undergone a transformation in quality and safety enhancement and has established a foundation for coordination across continuity of patient care. Providers in PCMH offer extended hours, care management to patients with chronic illnesses, behavioral health integration, or other services.

PCSP recognition shows that a practice excels in delivering high quality, patient centered care focusing on proactive coordination and information sharing.  Working as a team with primary care Providers, referring clinicians and community resources.

eMedApps provides support assisting you through the NCQA application process including:

  • PCMH Concepts Review
  • Standards and Guidelines Review
  • Practice concept implementation assistance
  • PCMH Criteria practice implementation assistance
  • Application Submission
  • Reporting Solutions
  • Dedicated resource to assist you through the application process

Appropriate Use Criteria (AUC)

The Protecting Access to Medicare Act (PAMA) of 2014, established a new program to increase the rate of appropriate advanced diagnostic imaging services provided to Medicare beneficiaries. Examples of such advanced imaging services include:

  • computed tomography (CT)
  • positron emission tomography (PET)
  • nuclear medicine, and
  • magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)

eMedApps will assist with requirement review and setup to meet AUC (Appropriate Use Criteria) which must be in place as of 1/1/2021. Review of settings, configurations and testing along with procedures to follow will be completed to make sure you are ready. We will work together to review your readiness and recommend any workflow or setup changes that are required.